My journey has begun

Any idiot can run a marathon….it takes a special kind of idiot to run an ultra.

I’ve signed up to run the North Downs Way 50, a 50 mile ultra marathon, on 18 May 2013.

2012 was a year of running firsts for me. I ran my first half marathon (2 in total) and my first marathon (2 in total, 1 in London with amazing crowds and another run solo and unsupported). Now it’s time to go further.

3 weeks into my 20 week ultra marathon training plan and I’m feeling great.

I know I have a lot to learn about running, nutrition, and more but I’m so excited about my biggest running challenge to date.

I’ll be running more often and further than I ever have before. I’m daunted, excited and motivated by the challenge. I guess we’ll see over the coming weeks how I feel as the mileage builds and the runs get tougher (and hillier).

I’ve never wanted to be a special kind of idiot more than I do now. Bring it on.

One thought on “My journey has begun

  1. Pingback: Here we go again | Time To Go Ultra - Running the North Downs Way 50 and beyond

Leave a Reply

