Back on the road again

This week has been a recovery week, thankfully. I was working away in Sunderland earlier this week and managed to get out for an 8 mile run alomg the coast, which was fun (but with a brisk North Sea breeze). I had scheduled runs on Tuesday and Wednesday but, for the first time this year, I decided to skip these as a) the hotel bed was more appealing than the freezing cold morning outside (Tuesday) and b) it seemed selfish to get back from Sunderland in the early evening, have a bite to eat then say “I’m off out for a run” when my wife and son hadn’t seen me for 4 days. Then again, maybe they were disapointed I didn’t get out for a run that night as they might have had some peace while I was away…

Anyhow, I’m determined that I’ll still get the mileage done this week so I’ve rejigged my training plan so I run Thursday – Sunday, with 2 runs on Sunday. This will be my first attempt at 2 runs in 1 day but I’m going to get the planned 5 runs in this week, especially as I’m on a Jantastic mission to get 100% in February (for more details, check out the highly recommended running podcast Marathon Talk and their Spring running challenge Jantastic).

This morning I set off early for a 9 mile run on the road. All of my long runs since my solo Portsmouth Coastal Marathon in December 2012 have been through the woods and forest and on trails so I wondered how I’d fare on the road and thought I’d better give it a go as I have the Portsmouth Coastal Half Marathon to run next Sunday. It felt good but I missed the trails. I enjoyed some amazing views (shame the photo doesn’t do it justice) and a very flooded road. Given that I’m going for a mystery cross country run in the same area tomorrow morning with a new running friend I think it’s going to be muddy, hard going and fun. I can’t wait to get back off the road. Running the trails is such a blast.

Photo0310

Photo0307

Photo0311

Leave a Reply

