50k – the next step on the way to 50 miles

I did it.

Longest training run for #projectultra done.

31 miles (or 50k) done.

It didn’t go to plan as I has some GI issues, got lost in the woods and it was very muddy underfoot in significant parts of the run. I probably walked too much as well.

Yet I did it. On my own. I didn’t panic when things went wrong, I kept moving, I didn’t let the mileage overwhelm me.

My legs have been screaming at me since I stopped but I don’t mind. I’m on my way.

If you’d told me this time last year – 1 week before my first ever marathon – that I’d be running for nearly 7 hours I wouldn’t have believed you. Yet here I am. That’s what I did.

Before I left this morning I set myself a 7 hour target for the run. Having got lost and spent time standing still trying to work out where I was and been slowed by very muddy paths I was delighted to finish in 6 hours 54 minutes. That’s an average pace of 13 minute miles, which would be fantastic at NDW50.

I can dream.

I believe now even more than before.

I will run 50 miles on 18 May.

NDW50, I’m coming to get you!

Leave a Reply

