Here we go again

This time last year I started training for a 50 mile ultra marathon, the North Downs Way 50. The 20 week plan saw me increase my weekly runs to 5 with 2 of these back to back long runs at the weekend. I didn’t really know how I would cope with the training but it saw me through to a sub-12 hour finish.

One year on and I’ve put a new plan together. Still 5 runs a week with back to back long runs but this time rather than steady runs I’m trying a new approach based around the Maffetone Method. Heart rate based training will be the focus for the first couple of months, with some speed work once a week in the second half of the training programme:

20131230-221358.jpg

I guess we will see how it goes.

Maybe this year I will even manage to stick to the plan and do some cross training (yoga and kettlebells in this case) this year…

There’s only one way to find out.

Time to run long and longer and up and down again, and again, and again.

Let’s do this.

It’s ultra time again.

2 thoughts on “Here we go again

  1. Graham,

    Very structured and scientific. I don’t want to interfere with your enjoyment but it would not be be useful to include HRM on the speed work ? As you progress I suppose one would expect max HR to decline on the intervals and this might be one more way to gauge your increases in fitness.

    • Thanks for the comment Paul. You have a point there. I was concerned that the HRM readings may be sky high for speed work but I guess if I wear the HRM I’ll find out and it might just show me that I’m making progress.

Leave a Reply

